A Canadian-Moroccan to represent France at Eurovision

It is the Canadian-Moroccan La Zarra, who will represent France for the big Eurovision song contest, which will take place in May in England. Her real name, Fatima Zahra Hafdi, the one who calls herself La Zarra on stage became known in Europe in 2021 with her song “Tu t’en iras”.

After another binational, Marie Myriam, La Zarra will try in May to win Eurovision, a title that has eluded France for 45 years. Fatima Zahra Hafdi, 25, was born in Montreal to parents from Morocco. In 2016, she stood out with her collaboration with the French rapper Niro on the title “Printemps blanc”.

Read also >> Eurovision: A hundred French artists denounce the “Apartheid” regime

In 2021, his title “Tu t’en iras” went platinum and earned him the NRJ Music Awards for the best French-speaking revelation of the year. The following year she was named in the revelation of the year category at the Gala de l’ADISQ, the independent music association of Quebec. Trophy finally won by Ariane Roy.

Canadian artists: Eurovision regulars

In Liverpool on May 13, La Zarra will try to succeed Marie Myriam. “It’s very funny: when I was little, my mother sang me The bird and the child”, confides the singer. It was with this title that the Franco-Portuguese won the last French victory at Eurovision in 1977. The French delegation to Eurovision should soon unveil the song that will represent France in the competition.

The artist, who lives mainly these days in Paris, feels a bit French. “I was quickly adopted, Quebec and France are very close. I don’t know if it’s because of our accent, but you like us, and it’s a pride to represent France, ”said AFP the one who says she has the French variety in her DNA.

This is not the first time that a Canadian has represented France at Eurovision. In 2001, Natasha St-Pier had competed under the French colors, finishing fourth in the competition, one of the best rankings for France since 1977. Another Canadian, Céline Dion, who was then 22 years old, won the competition for Switzerland in 1988.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *