adversary of Morocco, Canada unveils its list of 26 players summoned

The coach of the Canadian football team, John Herdman, unveiled, this Sunday, November 13, the list of 26 players summoned to play in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. Morocco and Canada will face each other on December 1st.

No big surprise in the squad revealed by John Herdman, which is headed by Bayern Munich star Alphonso Davies and Lille striker Jonathan David.

The 41st-ranked Canadian team has plenty of firepower up front with Tajon Buchanan, Junior Hoilett, Lucas Cavallini, Liam Millar and Ike Ugbo.

Three players present during the qualifications will however not go to Qatar due to injuries: goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau as well as central defenders Scott Kennedy and Doneil Henry.

Present for the first time at the World Cup in 36 years, Canada will play in Group F alongside Morocco, Croatia and Belgium.

Here is the full list of selected players:

Guardians: James Pantemis (CF Montreal), Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade) and Dayne St-Clair (Minnesota United).

Defenders: Samuel Adekugbe (Hatayspor), Joel Waterman (CF Montreal), Alistair Johnston (CF Montreal), Richie Laryea (Toronto FC), Kamal Miller (CF Montreal), Steven Vitoria (GD Chaves) and Derek Cornelius (Panetolikos GFS).

Midfielders: Liam Fraser (KMSK Deinze), Isamël Koné (CF Montreal), Mark-Anthony Kaye (Toronto FC), David Wotherspoon (St. Johnstone FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), Stephen Eustaquio (FC Porto ) and Samuel Piette (CF Montreal).

Forwards: Liam Millar (FC Basel), Lucas Cavallini (Vancouver Whitecaps), Iké Ugbo (Troyes), Tajon Buchanan (Club Bruges), Jonathan David (Lille), Cyle Larin (Club Bruges), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich) and Junior Hoilett ( Reading).

Morocco will face Canada on December 1 at 6 p.m. at the Al Rayyan stadium, as part of the third and final day of the group stage.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *