Critics Choice Awards 2023: ‘Abbott Elementary’ and ‘Better Call Saul’ big winners

Brendan Fraser, Cate Blanchett, Ke Huy Quan and Angela Bassett, winners of the Critics Choice Awards.

Brendan Fraser, Cate Blanchett, Ke Huy Quan and Angela Bassett, winners of the Critics Choice Awards.

The annual ceremony honored the year in film and television with A24’s ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ topping film nominations at 14, while ABC’s ‘Abbott Elementary’ topped nominations at the television with six.

Chelsea Handler hosted the CW show, taking over from actor Taye Diggs, who hosted the awards show for the past four years. Special awards went to Janelle Monáe, who received the #SeeHer award, while Jeff Bridges received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The film “Everything Everywhere All at Once” dominated this 28th edition for cinema with five awards, including Best Film and Best Director. On the side of the series, “Better Call Saul”, which came away with nothing from the Golden Globes, won the most prestigious award, that of Best Drama Series, while Bob Odenkirk and Giancarlo Esposito won those of Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series.

In the cinema category, Brendan Fraser, the Hollywood star of the 1990s, won the best actor award for his role in The Whale, the latest film by Darren Aronofsky.

Moved to tears, the actor thanked for being nominated and for working with talented people like Hong Chau and Sadie Sink. “This film is about love, about redemption, about finding the light in the dark and I’m very lucky to have worked with this cast,” he acknowledged.

Actress Cate Blanchett won Best Actress for her role in Tár. Best Cast went to #GlassOnion.

Abbott Elementary and The Dropout both won two awards each – Best Comedy Series and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Sheryl Lee Ralph for the former, and Best Limited Series and Best Actress in a Limited Series for Amanda Seyfried for the second.

Elsewhere in the evening, John Goodman presented Jeff Bridges with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Kate Hudson presented the SeeHer Award to her Glass Onion co-star Janelle Monáe.


Voted by the Critics Choice Association, the Critics Choice Awards aim to celebrate the best in film and television each year and can provide a much-needed boost to some awards campaigns as the Oscars approach each year. The Oscar-voting CCA and Academy don’t share their membership, however, so while Critics’ Choice Award winners sometimes line up pretty well with eventual Oscar winners, they’re not a perfect indicator of what the Academy could honor in March.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *