Ecuador, the last country to present its list

Ecuador is the last country to reveal its list but will be one of the first two countries to kick off the world championship next Sunday in the opening match.

Its participation had been contested by Chile and Peru. But the CAS rejected the request of the two plaintiffs while sanctioning Ecuador.

The subject of the dispute concerns the nationality of the defender “Ecuadorian” Byron Castillo. For Chile and Peru, the player in question is Colombian and not Ecuadorian.

The CAS, in its judgment, considered that even if he is of Colombian birth, the fact that Ecuador has legally granted him Ecuadorian nationality, the situation is regular.

However, administrative and financial sanctions were imposed on the Ecuadorian Federation.

To avoid any complications during the World Cup, the Ecuadorian national coach did not retain the player in question in his final list:

Guardians :
Alexander Dominguez, Hernan Galindez, Moisés Ramirez.

Defenders :
Angelo Preciado, William Pacho, Robert Arboleda, Jackson Porozo, Felix Torres, Piero Hincapie, Xavier Arreaga, Pervis Estupinan, Diego Palacios.

Environments : Carlos Gruezo, Moisés Caicedo, José Cifuentes, Jhegson Mendez, Alan Franco, Gonzalo Plata, Angel Mena, Jeremy Sarmiento, Ayrton Preciado, Romario Ibarra.

Attackers : Enner Valencia, Michael Estrada, Djorkaeff Reasco, Kevin Rodriguez.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *